• home
  • / Mandatory certification
  • / Personal protective equipment (PPE)

Mandatory certification

Personal protective equipment (PPE)

89/686/CEE DIRECTIVE, (PPE) - Personal protective equipment

PPE Directive concerns "any device to be worn or held by an individual for protection against one or more health and safety hazards". The Directive details both Essential Health and Safety Requirements (EHSRs) for PPE and the conformity assessment procedures.
The Directive provides for three categories of PPE - Simple (Category I), Intermediate (Category II) and Complex (Category III). The extent of control on the manufacturer's production and quality system, and the degree of involvement of a Notified Body, is different and determined by the category.

For PPE of simple design (category I), that protect from minor risks, it is sufficient a declaration of conformity issued by the manufacturer.

The certification process for PPE in Category II (PPE protecting against risks not mild but not even fatal) results in the execution of initial type testing by a notified laboratory and subsequent certification.

For category III PPE (intended to protect against risks of death or particularly severe and permanent injuries) periodic visits to the factory are also required, to check the production control with possible products sampling to be retested in the laboratory.

CSI is notified and accredited for the following Personal Protective Equipment:

  •  Head Protection
  •  Face and eye protection
  •  Hand and arm protection
  •  General body protection.
As of 21 April 2018, Directive 89/686/EEC will be repealed by the new Regulation (EU) 2016/425 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 9 March 2016 on personal protective equipment.

Attenzione: il browser che stai utilizzando è obsoleto, per una corretta navigazione aggiornalo alla versione più recente!